Norton Review

One of the most recognizable brands in the antivirus industry, Norton have been in the game since 1991. In the first half of 2007, Norton held a 61% market share of antivirus / security suite products, making them the household name in PC protection. Despite their success in the market, they have been subject to a lot of criticism in the media ­ as you can imagine, through being such a high profile name and having a widely used piece of software, any blunders from Norton results in mass upset. Norton is infamous for it’s convoluted uninstall process, their removal tool only removing certain aspects of the product and leaving others, but should this affect your choice when deciding on an Antivirus software?

Norton

Compatibility

Windows Compatible

Apple Mac Compatible

Android Compatible

iPad/iPod Compatible

Reliability and Security

Given Norton’s experience in the antivirus / PC security arena, you should expect a quality malware removal tool with little-to-no hitches in performance. (A slip from such important software can mean the end of your PC) Unfortunately, expectations don’t necessarily match up to reality with Norton’s antivirus product. In antivirus tests, Norton’s antivirus all to often picks up completely docile software as dangerous. In a usage case, this means that the software may flag up your pre-existing, completely safe software as a threat to your safety, rendering the otherwise harmless software unusable. (If you follow the software’s advice and quarantine it)

Removes Malware
Removes Malware

Detects and removes malicous software on your computer like viruses, adware or spyware.

Removes Spyware
Removes Spyware

Spyware secretly monitors what you do on your computer. Its aim is usually to capture passwords, banking credentials and credit card details.

Web Protection
Web Protection

Detect which websites are safe and can be trusted. Block malware websites and downloads.

Block Phishing Websites
Block Phishing Websites

Block 'spoof' websites designed to steal your personal information, normally after clicking a fake email.

Real-Time Protection
Real-Time Protection

Real-Time protection runs in the background and monitors your system continuously, blocking malware before it gets on your hard-drive.

Removes Adware
Removes Adware

Adware is malicous software that automatically displays or downloads advertising material such as banners or pop-ups.

AV-Test Top Product
AV-Test Top Product

AV Test Top Product Award

Features

VPN Internet Security
VPN Internet Security

Browse anonymously and securly online. Encrypt your connection to the Internet to block hackers from intercepting your data.

Scheduled Scans
Scheduled Scans

Set your own scheduled for system antivirus scans including what locations to scan.

Firewall
Firewall

Remote managment of Windows firewall or built-in advanced firewall tools.

Identity Protection
Identity Protection

Identity protection from Experian intergrated to protect your idenity on and offline.

Support and Customer Service

Norton are often shamed for their customer support, with many reported cases of Norton ‘security experts’ telling users their computers are infected and need to be fixed. Of course, there never was an infection and the security experts charge the user a fee for it to be ‘fixed’. We never felt so much as ‘conned’ by Norton support, but there we certainly weren’t impressed by it. Getting to a point where you can speak to a human at Norton for help isn’t as easy as it should be, your best bet is searching Google for the ‘Contact Us’ page. When you do reach it, you are offered ‘Live Chat’ support, which is a great way of offering and receiving support in the antivirus market. As well as live chat, Norton offer support over the phone. Annoyingly however, you have to fill out a form to get a number to call. In situations whereby you require support, you are likely to already be disgruntled. If you then had to peruse their website just to find a way of contacting them, it would annoy you even more. Consider this when making your decision on Norton.

Phone Support
Phone Support

24/7 phone support for billing and technical questions.

Live Chat Support
Live Chat Support

Customer service includes live chat for a quick respsonse to any issues.

Customer Reviews For Norton

Brownie - 1 month ago

slowed my pc to a crawl !

Jack - 1 month ago

I paid for Norton as a virus protector for my parents. When they passed away Norton glad transferred the coverage to my computer. This really impressed me.

Leon - 1 month ago

Unfortunately, I had the misfortunes of using this product as a new computer user. I thought it would be great since it's been around for a long time. Shame of on them for their deceptions.

AJ - 1 month ago

Run from Norton. I was given an upgrade to Norton 360 with there VPN service. It was a totally mess and it was hacked. Norton is tracking your every move through there VPN service.

Ann Frego - 2 months ago

Do not renew for a year! My computer died and I was not replacing it. They would not issue a partial refund even when I had 9 months left on my coverage. Be very careful about this.

Furious in Alabama - 3 months ago

Stay Away from NORTON!!!! Program package is problematic and their tech support is based in India. After several interactions with Norton Technical Services, I found that their tech staff is in INDIA and has no clue to TCP/IP and CIDR notation. My experience started with an inquiry to why they are using XEROX and MICROSOFT ARIN registered TCP/IP and especially keeping certain ports and windsocks open from power up to power down. I explained that this was a security flaw but Tech Support wanted to remote into my device. (NEVER LET ANYONE REMOTE INTO YOUR DEVICE UNLESS YOU TRUST THEM EXPLICITLY)! Working in the IOT world as an engineer for 35 years I took that chance and observed that the INDIA support specialist had no clue what he was doing and I had to correct his attempts to block ports by CIDR range instead of single address. He could not tell me why Nortonsecurity.exe was holding a Winsock open on port 80 and the TCP/IP was registered to XEROX and others to Microsoft. Hypothetical - what if the US suddenly had conflict with India or mid-eastern countries. They would have access to everyone’s computer / device silently without permission to remote in because their remote software is built into their main Antivirus program. That makes my stomach sour... Norton advertises they have US based tech support but it is a lie. I am tired of picking up the phone only to hear an undisputed mid-eastern accent and after inquiring they confess they are from the Mideast. I gave Norton a chance years ago and found that they rewrote critical system .DLL files and made almost impossible to uninstall there software, Now with the latest find of a security company that blatantly practices anti-secure practices and a staff supporting their product that has NO Computer knowledge made me think that I will never trust or go back to Norton again. And recently they teamed up with Life lock will surely cause many people to suffer future events down the road. Head the warning - DO NOT TRUST NORTON!!!

Randy - 4 months ago

They are terrible----I used it for a couple of years,but it offered very little if any protection.I removed it several months ago,even though I lost a 100.00 dollars on the subscription. STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

carroll parkkonen - 1 year ago

had it for years too bought it really depended on it ..up till 4 months ago..when i had problem.. phoned ..for help ..damb buy the time you are not even finished to solve the promblem they want more money ..which i have already bought their cd,,ouch still have 200 days left ..won't let me use it until i pay more money..up your ass norton . and hire someonewho speaks english ty . and enjoy the rest of my days left . for me never again . have found a new one.. A SCAM IS A SCAM ..THE GUY COULD NOT EVEN TALK ENGLISH ..HAD TO TYPE THE QUESTIONS AND ANSWER TYPING ..CAUSE I COULD NOT EVEN UNDERSTAND A WORD HE WAS SAYING ..IN TYPE ...I HAD TO BUY A NEW COMPUTER LMAO..TY NORTON. SS TOLD ME I HAD TO BUY A NEW COMPUTER WORTH 299.00 TO 400.00 ..TOLD HIM TO EF OFF AND HUNG UP ..WATCH OUT PEOPLE ''' '''''''''''''AND I END UP WITH THE TRUTH' SCAMMERS ARE EVERYWHERE YOU DO NOT EXPECT '''''TAKE CARE FOLK'S

Mark - 1 year ago

I had it for years but I started seeing people say its a scam its the virus I would use Avast even if it can be pricey ive seen Avast work but Norton no never helped. I'm on a trial on avast and internet protection works! it protected my PC from the PUP virus.

Sam - 1 year ago

I have been using Norton for many years, but now Norton is selling their product bits by bits. When I inquired about it and spoke to the Norton representative they are giving me ambiguous answers. I had to cancel my automatic renewal subscription.

Stephen Cooper - 1 year ago

Basically, in a nut shell, Nortons is a virus in itself, disguised as an antivirus. Slowed the operating system on three networked computers down that much it was ridiculous and updates seemed to take priority over everything. Embedded itself deep within the operating system including network and was both time consuming and a nightmare to try and clear out.

Tiffani Hall - 1 year ago

Norton tried to transfer $500.00 on 03 August '17 from my account into what they call 'Coin Base' without my knowledge. I had a feeling something was wrong, called my Credit Card Company, they confirmed the above. I then cancelled my CARD, and do not ever want to deal with them again. Unfortunately they still have $149.00 of my money, and I have 362 days left with this ASININE Company. THEY SUCK!

Art - 1 year ago

Keeps wanting to delete programs I have been using for over 15 years. It does not offer for user to select an override!!! Very poor! An email to Norton was ignored. One program I have to reenter the key for. Have not been able to identify the Norton process that causes that. Do not have this problems with computers that I do not use Norton on!!!

j Bruno - 1 year ago

Yeah, they tried to suck me in too with "you have a virus" when i tried to enter my product key for a new download, when i entered the key, it said-error code, so i called the number on the page and guess what, it had nothing to do with Norton,some call centre in the middle of India(i suspect) Thinking they were from Norton, i allowed them remote access(big mistake) and that's when they fabricated things. They said i had problems and they would sort it out for me and install the Antivirus for a sum of $220.00 and that when the alarm bell started to ring, i was a little suss because both my computers had an error message, one i was running on windows x So i said no thanks and hung up, be careful when down loading from these sites, i finally got the proper phone number from Office Works when i explained what happened and spoke to a Norton representative who guided me all the way without a hitch and they don't charge for the support. Be aware!!!

Jacob - 1 year ago

I have been with Norton for many years. to keep cost down buy Norton at the store instead of renew online . I am happy with Norton 360

Norton Features

  • Removes Malware
  • Removes Spyware
  • Web Protection
  • Block Phishing Websites
  • Real-Time Protection
  • Removes Adware
  • VPN Internet Security
  • Scheduled Scans
  • Firewall
  • Identity Protection
  • Phone Support
  • Live Chat Support
  • Windows Compatible
  • Apple Mac Compatible
  • Android Compatible
  • iPad/iPod Compatible
  • AV-Test Top Product

Compare Antivirus Software 2019

TotalAV
PC Protect
McAfee
Avira
Norton