MalwareBytes Review

Malwarebytes, as you can probably guess from it’s name, is a tool that concentrates on the removal of malware. This differs from all the other companies we review as it’s not a full anti-virus package and so lacks some of the features that you usually get from a package like Total AV or McAfee. Do you need a full package though?

MalwareBytes

Compatibility

Windows Compatible

Apple Mac Compatible

Android Compatible

Reliability and Security

Malwarebytes is definitely one of the top-rated anti-malware tools out there. As the name suggests it’s an anti-malware tool but it also deals with spyware, adware, trojans – you name it! It’s a very basic program and therefore doesn’t have a lot of features to trip over on and so you’d expect great reliability and that’s what you get!

Removes Malware
Removes Malware

Detects and removes malicous software on your computer like viruses, adware or spyware.

Removes Spyware
Removes Spyware

Spyware secretly monitors what you do on your computer. Its aim is usually to capture passwords, banking credentials and credit card details.

Web Protection
Web Protection

Detect which websites are safe and can be trusted. Block malware websites and downloads.

Removes Adware
Removes Adware

Adware is malicous software that automatically displays or downloads advertising material such as banners or pop-ups.

Features

Scheduled Scans
Scheduled Scans

Set your own scheduled for system antivirus scans including what locations to scan.

Support and Customer Service

To be honest there’s not a lot of support in terms of talking to someone but they do offer support in the form of FAQs, How to guides and videos and also email/ticketing support. The software is very simple so we hope the end-user shouldn’t run into many issues.

Customer Reviews For MalwareBytes

Lewis R. Keith - 4 months ago

Please cease any and all notices on my PC for free or paid premium Malware Bytes upgrades. I am aggravated by the seemingly constant interruption with on my screen of your services! Thank you for your cooperation as of immediately! Thank you!

Mr Doo - 4 months ago

its great.. but i always have more than one antivirus on my laptop anyway...

John - 5 months ago

WAS A GREAT PROGRAM....Had it for years with lifetime license, log on this morning and it's back to trialware and I go to website to get my registration info and find out that it's now 59.99 a year to keep it registered and my lifetime license is now invalid? Well bye-bye Malwarebytes, not worth 59.99 a year and I'll find another solution that is FREE, just lost another customer ....great business model morons.

Christine Chamberlin - 6 months ago

It seems to do a great job! Very happy with it. However I can`t afford to buy it as someone else has stated it`s way to much money. And if you get all the things you need for your computer, all the different things that you need to buy to stay safe. Dang it would cost you more than your computer did and even more so if you have more than 1 computer. SAD!

fake comments - 2 years ago

these comments are fake, Malwarebytes is the best

Steven Denger - 2 years ago

I had used Malwarebytes for a few years but since the 3 version, I all of sudden cannot open it up to check to see if it still scanning and working. The support sucks and it took them days to get back. They gave me a download link and said to reactivate another version. But their download would no open up - I got an error popup window. I will be finishing out my subscription and never consider using them again. Save yourself headaches and do not use this service.

Gene - 2 years ago

I am surprised at some of these reviews. I had a troublesome adware such that when I closed the add (X) another add would immediately appear and when I closed it another ad appeared etc. I tried AV Norton and it did not remove the adware, I removed Norton ( quite a task) and used Mcgaffee same result and removed it , then I tried Kaspersky AV and got the same results . I removed Kaspersky and tried yet another top AV (all these were paid AV programs) I even found the adware program in my program listing in the control panel and the MS delete function did not could not /would not delete it even Windows defender did not keep it out, discover it nor remove it . , I tried AND FOUND A Win 8 software suggestions for malewarebytes and Malwarebytes is the only program that removed the adware . So yes it is limited, and it is not an AV program but it worked great on adware and trojans when the major top AV programs did not find nor remove them and Malwarebytes is well worth the price. I also ran a comparison between bitdefender and that comparison put maleware Bytes as the better of the two. I also use it with win 10 pro and again find it finds and deletes things that got past MS Defender and Kaspersky . I use it on occasion if and when I have some problem on my pc.

Len - 2 years ago

I agree with you John. Used prog for several years and very happy. However, recently advised of update which I downloaded and which gave immediate problems; the prog wouldn't open! I deleted what I had and found my way here. The Malware website gives the opportunity to download a free copy of the prog but you have to be aware that you must deactivate premium trial ( from within settings ) in order to continue with the use of the free prog. From you comments I think you have been treated appallingly; I'm afraid it's another case of ' let's get as much income as we can, let's scare our customers and sod it if they don't like it '. Malware could be very ( much more ) profitable if it had a good Product Manager in charge! I'm in the UK and a member of Which magazine which has, in the past, extolled the virtues of Malwarebytes; I shall be reporting to them about this latest unsatisfactory development with this so called " Freeware " offer.

Mike Cole - 2 years ago

I've had the Lifetime 'PRO' subscription for ... EVER. As noted by others, when 3.0 came out ... GLITCHES. But that's in the past now .... all good now. No doo doo has EVER infected my PC's. Catches EVERYTHING .... puts my 'miniscule' mind at ease.

Charles R. Wilkes - 2 years ago

No customer service; Period.........

John - 2 years ago

Don't waste your time, unless you want to be a guinea pig testing there software. I used Malwarebytes software almost from the day it was first released many years ago. I was very happy and always recommended it to everyone. Well no longer will I use or recommend it to even my worst enemy. Since version 3 it is the most troublesome software I ever encountered. Constantly turns off protection. After posting my issues on the user forums I was told my problems were isolated and millions of other users have no issues. The number of posts clearly indicated otherwise. After asking questions about their claims as to not needing anti-virus software anymore, I was never given answers, but instead was pegged as a trouble maker and immature, and they would close the topic. I suggested they recall version 3 until problems were fixed and they said I was nuts. Over 6 months later they still haven't got the problems fixed. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME. Go with a proven product like Kaspersky or Bitdefender !!!

Richard Fuller - 2 years ago

Customer service is non-existent. I bought and paid for version 3.0 with disastrous results and could not get help anywhere. I uninstalled it from my computer and it started to run like it is supposed to. Would appreciate any help in getting reimbursed from VISA - maybe I will just call them and dispute the charges. Any advice on a working malware system will be appreiated.

Robert - 2 years ago

The free version for 5 years was fantastic and its still a great product as it detects wannacry. But it also stop working on my machines and I was told I had to install a complicated fix. I dropped them. I will check back with them in a year and they are very weak on tracking cookies .

Vernon - 2 years ago

I bought this software. Had repeated problems downloading. Finally, it works. But I only had one premium feature working. I could not get protection every day. so I left an email with customer service. Two days later received a phone call. It was customer support. I told him the problem. He explain this had been a problem for several years. The last attempt was in March 2017. They sent me a page full of directions uninstall their product and how to reinstall. I then ask for a refund. They said I send then an email every was fine. I did related install. I email then every day for 3 days . So I went to yo tube and ask how to get a refund I was told my another person he had the same problem.He gave me another company to cll so I would get my refund. Also he said I would get it in a couple days. I challeng on that issue the he admitt in would be ten busines days

Malware - 2 years ago

terrible customer service ... they purposely don't get back to you and ignore you ... I cancelled my subscription with them.

MalwareBytes Features

  • Removes Malware
  • Removes Spyware
  • Web Protection
  • Removes Adware
  • Scheduled Scans
  • Windows Compatible
  • Apple Mac Compatible
  • Android Compatible

Compare Antivirus Software 2019

TotalAV
PC Protect
McAfee
Avira
Norton