Bitdefender Review

Bitdefender, over the last few years, has been one of the most highly regarded antivirus products, and for good reason. A relatively new company, compared to others in the antivirus space, Bitdefender have quickly established themselves as one of the leading brands with over half a billion installs / active users to date. There are 17 products to choose from, a number of which are for personal use (the type are concerned about and will be reviewing!). You can protect your PC, Mac and Android with BitDefender. Consistently performing better than the industry average, Bitdefender antivirus products have grown to become one of the most well respected brands in the industry. But how do they match up in 2016? Are they still one of the top choices?

Bitdefender

Compatibility

Windows Compatible

Apple Mac Compatible

Android Compatible

Reliability and Security

You can find many different examples of organizations and reports commending Bitdefender on their product’s reliability and efficiency, supported further by their impressive collection of awards based on the software’s ability to pick up malware and ignore harmless software. The reliability of the antivirus should be no concern at all when considering Bitdefender. It’s also very easy to use. The user interface is very simple and easy to understand, within a few seconds you are aware of your current level of protection and what is turned on / off in terms of features. Also, you can start a scan immediately. The only potential level of confusion is the 3 different types of scan, but a little product research can dissipate this.

Removes Malware
Removes Malware

Detects and removes malicous software on your computer like viruses, adware or spyware.

Removes Spyware
Removes Spyware

Spyware secretly monitors what you do on your computer. Its aim is usually to capture passwords, banking credentials and credit card details.

Web Protection
Web Protection

Detect which websites are safe and can be trusted. Block malware websites and downloads.

Block Phishing Websites
Block Phishing Websites

Block 'spoof' websites designed to steal your personal information, normally after clicking a fake email.

Real-Time Protection
Real-Time Protection

Real-Time protection runs in the background and monitors your system continuously, blocking malware before it gets on your hard-drive.

Removes Adware
Removes Adware

Adware is malicous software that automatically displays or downloads advertising material such as banners or pop-ups.

Features

VPN Internet Security
VPN Internet Security

Browse anonymously and securly online. Encrypt your connection to the Internet to block hackers from intercepting your data.

Scheduled Scans
Scheduled Scans

Set your own scheduled for system antivirus scans including what locations to scan.

Firewall
Firewall

Remote managment of Windows firewall or built-in advanced firewall tools.

Tune-Up
Tune-Up

Includes tools which will help with the speed and optimization of your computer.

Support and Customer Service

Bitdefender have some great support avenues you can use if you are stuck. They are easy to access and offer quality support, whether you choose email, community support, chat or phone. Unfortunately, it wasn’t all plain sailing with Bitdefender’s support. When we tried to use the chat support there weren’t any agents available, it was suggested that we email instead! In the case that a vital piece of software to you has been flagged as malware, you would need an answer quicker than 2 days time. We tried to reach Bitdefender’s chat support 4 times over a 20 minute period, we were unsuccessful every time! It would be naive to assume that this is representative of their chat support all the time, but it certainly doesn’t leave us with much confidence in their ability to help customers.

Phone Support
Phone Support

24/7 phone support for billing and technical questions.

Customer Reviews For Bitdefender

Marcus - 2 weeks ago

I've been a loyal BitDefender customer for three years. In that time, I have watched as it removed more and more of the user ability to fine-tune its application. While the antivirus and firewall engines are excellent, if you are a knowledgeable user who wants fine control over the "nanny state" BitDefender has become, I would avoid it. I have not renewed my subscription. Check BitDefender's blog to see how many dissatisfied users there are.

Steve - 8 months ago

500 million plus people trust BitDefender around the globe. Say no more. Currently rated #1 on the top 5 Antivirus index in the world where it has remained for the last seven years. Won many awards including Best Editors choice multiple times. antivirus comparison tests put Bitdefender first with a score of 10/10. Currently rated #1 in Australia with a 9.8 score out of 10. Its these facts that I was sold on this software. I've been using the paid professional version for the last five years and have never looked back. Recommend this to everyone. Add to that, amazing customer service, email, phone and online chat rooms.

Frank P. - 1 year ago

AVOID!!! I bought it January 2017 (the top 5 licenses one) and it was a complete disaster!!!. It's slow, crashes all the time, assumes many things for you without asking, therefore screws up a lot of installations, upgrades etc... Knowing, that It would be almost impossible to get a refund, since their support is non existent... I removed it to replace it with Avast. Although Avast is a little bit better (but I am still not satisfied!), I will now give a chance to Total AV, in the hope that it is worthy...!

Peter Thring - 1 year ago

I've used Bitdefender for quite a few years and have had no problems with Windows 10. But my older laptop picked up something that slipped in under Bitdefender and now it is not functional on the web. I spent days recently scanning updating and upgrading but Bitdefender sits there beaming while crap comes bubbling along. Even Bitdefender's Safepay secure browser is unusable. The support suggestions have not helped at all and I am about to give up on Bitdefender. I was also almost caught out by the autorenewal at highest possible price which other users have commented on.

Stephen Cooper - 1 year ago

Have been using Total Security for years and currently use 2018 version. Easy to use, very secure, excellent online and phone support and value for money. Bitdefender has won many awards and continues to do so, being the front line contender in the fight against cyber crime. Leaves all others for dust. 10/10

shahram - 1 year ago

I am using for several years the Bitdefender Internet Security(BIS) , BIS 2017 has crashes and passing 8 month the BIS only talks to find fix the problem in addition to that BIS 2016 had SSL Scan problem, the present BIS 2018 is the worst oa all encountering various errors, crashes, malfunctions......stopping working..., as, my both PCs remained unprotected, after long and annoying process with the Bitdefender Support they told me to go back to BIS 2016 until their next future update(that will be a usual jock ) to fix the problems, as , at this present I am tired and sick from BIS, in particular from their anti human behavior in Facebook that they carry out censorship banning the BIS user that tell the truth to the people , now I am searching for other alternative to delete BIS and switch on other security suite.

Pathetic quality, careless and uninterested customer service, shady behavior - CANNOT possibly be called "Security" software. - 1 year ago

I purchased this software based on stellar reviews on the internet, of how this antivirus beats the pants off other antivirus software on the internet, supposedly across various metrics like security, features, performance, customer service, quality etc. As a Software Engineer myself, I am aghast at the poor quality of this software, and the audacity of the vendor to market such falsified information. This "antivirus" application is truly a disgrace to "commercial" software, especially considering that it was built to also be installed on the Mac OS (considering the emphasis Mac applications place on user friendliness). In fact, it is precisely for the MacOS that this antivirus had raving reviews on most websites. Yet, when I tried to install this software on a Macbook Pro, I found it to be the opposite. The website looks fancy and professional at the start, but once you login to your Central Command -- i.e, "central.bitdefender.com" -- you will notice the sudden drop in quality. The installer installs in 2 phases. The first phase comprises of downloading their ~3.5Mb MacOS installer (.pkg) file, which is essentially a proxy installer that "eventually" (more about this later) triggers the 2nd phase of the installation, wherein the meat of the product gets installed (presumably the virus definitions, license information etc). Here is where the headaches start. During phase 1, you are not provided any information about where the software will be installed (let alone the choice of where to install it). Furthermore, once phase 1 completes, there is supposed to be a "popup" that allows you to login to your account to continue with phase 2. It appears to me that the phase 1 stub, after installation, starts pinging the server for the go-ahead with phase 2, but the server fails miserably with that responsibility, and sometimes takes days (yes days) to respond to the stub to proceed. In fact, there were a couple of occasions when even waiting days yielded nothing. Anyway, if the popup window does finally show up, the stub is supposed to show a login window that allows the user to login to their account, so that the license information and associated virus definitions/features get downloaded and unlocked for use. But the headache does not end then. Even after downloading phase 2, there is a good chance that the control center window (the main antivirus control window) will never show up. Through all this, there is nothing the user can do to abort and relaunch the blocked installation, because there is no information provided about where to find the utility on the computer. To make matters worse, not only does the software lurk in your system without being traceable, the only way to uninstall the software is to relaunch the installer. If you happen to delete the installer, then you would have to re-download it to do an uninstall. I personally don't trust such crappy software to sit on my computer, particularly if it advertises itself as a "security" software (go figure). I am extremely concerned at how such vendors can perpetuate false information about their services on the internet these days, risking so many people's vital personal information, without even putting their products through a basic quality control process. I am also amazed at how this product passed any quality controls or security certifications that are external to the company -- if it can't even get the basics right, I shudder to imagine the vulnerabilities that were left untested for its actual security tasks! A user should be given all the information necessary so as to better manage the security of their system -- after all, we have highly confidential information on our personal and work computers, so this is not to be taken lightly. So, how can someone trust a security application if the first encounter with it is so suspicion-provoking, not to also mention the rampant quality control issues, absence of user friendly controls etc? On top of that, the customer service department is equally pathetic. They made me wait 10 days, with sparse responses, if at all, and finally, after the 10 day wait the sent me a generic link explaining the uninstallation process, when the issue was installation! I would highly discourage users from using this software, particularly for the MacOS. There are so many other antivirus options out there, from far more reputable vendors -- like Norton, McAfee, Kaspersky etc -- that risking the security of one's system to a software like this is truly braindead.

Edward - 1 year ago

Watch out for automatic renewal, where they increase the price when you're not looking. Also, I've used btdefend for maybe 10 years, but their tech support has gotten slower and slower. I'm saddened they're letting it slide.

Chris - 1 year ago

YES, you CAN protect MAC with a iOS dedicated version. It works fine on my MAC

Wooow - 1 year ago

Bitdefender is one of the best antivirus.... ridiculous... https://www.av-test.org/en/antivirus/home-windows/windows-10/october-2016/bitdefender-internet-security-2016--2017-164091/

Amanda - 2 years ago

Very average.

James Lucas - 2 years ago

Watch out for their hidden automatic renewal.

Derek Hemsworth - 2 years ago

Good for me, I think it should be rated higher from my experience with bitdefender.

Johann Sneygans - 2 years ago

I've tried this and AVG is still the best for me. Bitdefender did not work for me.

John Bidwell - 2 years ago

Saw some iffy reviews on this but bought and seems ok to me.

Total AV
Best Free Antivirus 2019

Bitdefender Features

  • Removes Malware
  • Removes Spyware
  • Web Protection
  • Block Phishing Websites
  • Real-Time Protection
  • Removes Adware
  • VPN Internet Security
  • Scheduled Scans
  • Firewall
  • Tune-Up
  • Phone Support
  • Windows Compatible
  • Apple Mac Compatible
  • Android Compatible

Top 5 Best Antivirus Software

#1
TotalAV
#2
PC Protect
#3
McAfee
#4
Avira
#5
Norton