Pros

Offers free trial, paid account is jam packed full of features.

Cons

Support could be improved on with long response times.

Overall Score

8.2
Intro

Intro

Bitdefender, over the last few years, has been one of the most highly regarded antivirus products, and for good reason. A relatively new company, compared to others in the antivirus space, Bitdefender have quickly established themselves as one of the leading brands with over half a billion installs / active users to date. There are 17 products to choose from, a number of which are for personal use (the type are concerned about and will be reviewing!). You can protect your PC, Mac and Android with BitDefender. Consistently performing better than the industry average, Bitdefender antivirus products have grown to become one of the most well respected brands in the industry. But how do they match up in 2016? Are they still one of the top choices?

Visit Bitdefender
    Overall rating
Value

Value

To begin using Bitdefender, you must either pay the $40 yearly subscription or start a 30 day free trial. Either way, you get access to the same feature set, so it’s definitely worth opting for the free trial to start. When it comes to purchasing the product, for just over $3.20 / month you get protection on 3 devices. For an extra $40 you can opt to have your antivirus installed and configured for you, which could be useful if you were completely technologically­illiterate and had no time at all, but in general this isn’t worth the money. There are tons of guides online, on BitDefender and externally, showing you how to install the software. In terms of the product itself, the relatively low monthly price commands a great feature set. You get much more than just virus protection with Bitdefender’s software.

Reliability and Security

Reliability and Security

You can find many different examples of organizations and reports commending Bitdefender on their product’s reliability and efficiency, supported further by their impressive collection of awards based on the software’s ability to pick up malware and ignore harmless software. The reliability of the antivirus should be no concern at all when considering Bitdefender. It’s also very easy to use. The user interface is very simple and easy to understand, within a few seconds you are aware of your current level of protection and what is turned on / off in terms of features. Also, you can start a scan immediately. The only potential level of confusion is the 3 different types of scan, but a little product research can dissipate this.

Support and Customer Service

Support and Customer Service

Bitdefender have some great support avenues you can use if you are stuck. They are easy to access and offer quality support, whether you choose email, community support, chat or phone. Unfortunately, it wasn’t all plain sailing with Bitdefender’s support. When we tried to use the chat support there weren’t any agents available, it was suggested that we email instead! In the case that a vital piece of software to you has been flagged as malware, you would need an answer quicker than 2 days time. We tried to reach Bitdefender’s chat support 4 times over a 20 minute period, we were unsuccessful every time! It would be naive to assume that this is representative of their chat support all the time, but it certainly doesn’t leave us with much confidence in their ability to help customers.

Features

Features

Bitdefender’s antivirus software is packed full of useful features, from Social Network Protection to Sensitive Anti­fraud tools. The most interesting feature is called ‘Rescue Mode’ ­ it makes a lot of sense to have in an antivirus and, surprisingly, we’ve not seen it on any other product of it’s kind. The premise is simple: in the occasion your antivirus is infected with a Rootkit (a type of malware which cannot necessarily be removed from within the Windows operating system), the computer is automatically rebooted and safeguarded. Rootkits are some of the most dangerous pieces of malware and they are devilishly hard to conquer from an Antivirus point of view. Bitdefender have nailed it by including ‘Rescue Mode’ on their software. Another smart tool is the ‘Bank Online Without Worries’ feature, which pre­fills credit card information forms online to help protect you from hackers intercepting this info via snooping or key­logging.

Customer Feedback For Bitdefender

Stephen Cooper - 2 weeks ago

Have been using Total Security for years and currently use 2018 version. Easy to use, very secure, excellent online and phone support and value for money. Bitdefender has won many awards and continues to do so, being the front line contender in the fight against cyber crime. Leaves all others for dust. 10/10

shahram - 3 months ago

I am using for several years the Bitdefender Internet Security(BIS) , BIS 2017 has crashes and passing 8 month the BIS only talks to find fix the problem in addition to that BIS 2016 had SSL Scan problem, the present BIS 2018 is the worst oa all encountering various errors, crashes, malfunctions......stopping working..., as, my both PCs remained unprotected, after long and annoying process with the Bitdefender Support they told me to go back to BIS 2016 until their next future update(that will be a usual jock ) to fix the problems, as , at this present I am tired and sick from BIS, in particular from their anti human behavior in Facebook that they carry out censorship banning the BIS user that tell the truth to the people , now I am searching for other alternative to delete BIS and switch on other security suite.

Pathetic quality, careless and uninterested customer service, shady behavior - CANNOT possibly be called "Security" software. - 3 months ago

I purchased this software based on stellar reviews on the internet, of how this antivirus beats the pants off other antivirus software on the internet, supposedly across various metrics like security, features, performance, customer service, quality etc. As a Software Engineer myself, I am aghast at the poor quality of this software, and the audacity of the vendor to market such falsified information. This "antivirus" application is truly a disgrace to "commercial" software, especially considering that it was built to also be installed on the Mac OS (considering the emphasis Mac applications place on user friendliness). In fact, it is precisely for the MacOS that this antivirus had raving reviews on most websites. Yet, when I tried to install this software on a Macbook Pro, I found it to be the opposite. The website looks fancy and professional at the start, but once you login to your Central Command -- i.e, "central.bitdefender.com" -- you will notice the sudden drop in quality. The installer installs in 2 phases. The first phase comprises of downloading their ~3.5Mb MacOS installer (.pkg) file, which is essentially a proxy installer that "eventually" (more about this later) triggers the 2nd phase of the installation, wherein the meat of the product gets installed (presumably the virus definitions, license information etc). Here is where the headaches start. During phase 1, you are not provided any information about where the software will be installed (let alone the choice of where to install it). Furthermore, once phase 1 completes, there is supposed to be a "popup" that allows you to login to your account to continue with phase 2. It appears to me that the phase 1 stub, after installation, starts pinging the server for the go-ahead with phase 2, but the server fails miserably with that responsibility, and sometimes takes days (yes days) to respond to the stub to proceed. In fact, there were a couple of occasions when even waiting days yielded nothing. Anyway, if the popup window does finally show up, the stub is supposed to show a login window that allows the user to login to their account, so that the license information and associated virus definitions/features get downloaded and unlocked for use. But the headache does not end then. Even after downloading phase 2, there is a good chance that the control center window (the main antivirus control window) will never show up. Through all this, there is nothing the user can do to abort and relaunch the blocked installation, because there is no information provided about where to find the utility on the computer. To make matters worse, not only does the software lurk in your system without being traceable, the only way to uninstall the software is to relaunch the installer. If you happen to delete the installer, then you would have to re-download it to do an uninstall. I personally don't trust such crappy software to sit on my computer, particularly if it advertises itself as a "security" software (go figure). I am extremely concerned at how such vendors can perpetuate false information about their services on the internet these days, risking so many people's vital personal information, without even putting their products through a basic quality control process. I am also amazed at how this product passed any quality controls or security certifications that are external to the company -- if it can't even get the basics right, I shudder to imagine the vulnerabilities that were left untested for its actual security tasks! A user should be given all the information necessary so as to better manage the security of their system -- after all, we have highly confidential information on our personal and work computers, so this is not to be taken lightly. So, how can someone trust a security application if the first encounter with it is so suspicion-provoking, not to also mention the rampant quality control issues, absence of user friendly controls etc? On top of that, the customer service department is equally pathetic. They made me wait 10 days, with sparse responses, if at all, and finally, after the 10 day wait the sent me a generic link explaining the uninstallation process, when the issue was installation! I would highly discourage users from using this software, particularly for the MacOS. There are so many other antivirus options out there, from far more reputable vendors -- like Norton, McAfee, Kaspersky etc -- that risking the security of one's system to a software like this is truly braindead.

Edward - 3 months ago

Watch out for automatic renewal, where they increase the price when you're not looking. Also, I've used btdefend for maybe 10 years, but their tech support has gotten slower and slower. I'm saddened they're letting it slide.

Chris - 3 months ago

YES, you CAN protect MAC with a iOS dedicated version. It works fine on my MAC

Wooow - 8 months ago

Bitdefender is one of the best antivirus.... ridiculous... https://www.av-test.org/en/antivirus/home-windows/windows-10/october-2016/bitdefender-internet-security-2016--2017-164091/

Amanda - 10 months ago

Very average.

James Lucas - 10 months ago

Watch out for their hidden automatic renewal.

Derek Hemsworth - 11 months ago

Good for me, I think it should be rated higher from my experience with bitdefender.

Johann Sneygans - 11 months ago

I've tried this and AVG is still the best for me. Bitdefender did not work for me.

John Bidwell - 11 months ago

Saw some iffy reviews on this but bought and seems ok to me.

Hannah Stevenson - 1 year ago

Not for me. 5/10

Ron Campbell - 1 year ago

There's better out there, don't settle for second best. Support for me was average, no agents available on live chat.

Brad Porter - 1 year ago

Thank for helping me choose, great write ups.

Brian Dobson - 1 year ago

Bitdefender is my favourite security suite and i've tried all of the big names. Thorough and quick scans, can't go wrong.

Click Here to Visit Bitdefender
Close Popup
Hey Wait

You are eligible

Claim your copy

For free!

Total AV Pro Pro 2017

  • Instantly identify harmful threats
  • Speedup overall performance
  • Delete redundant files
  • Secure internet connection