Avast Review

Avast! is an antivirus software developed by a Czech Security company called Avast Software. The company was founded in 1988 so has been around for almost 2 decades! Within this time the software has had plenty of peaks and troughs like any normal company, but it's coming into it's own now! As of 2016, Avast! had 400 million users and around 40% of the market share (outside of china). With offices in the US, Germany, China, South Korea and Taiwan is a giant. Last month (September 2016), Avast bought AVG for $1.3 billion!

Avast

Compatibility

Windows Compatible

Apple Mac Compatible

Android Compatible

iPad/iPod Compatible

Reliability and Security

Avast! has stacks of awards and certifications under its belt, so surely this must say a lot about the quality of the product? Well yes, in a way. Critic reviews and awards aren't handed out like free cheese at a supermarket, a lot of testing is involved. Awards don't say it all though, software is updated daily so awards can quickly become irrelevant, so we performed our own testing. To be fair, the software is smooth, quick and looks beautiful.

Removes Malware
Removes Malware

Detects and removes malicous software on your computer like viruses, adware or spyware.

Removes Spyware
Removes Spyware

Spyware secretly monitors what you do on your computer. Its aim is usually to capture passwords, banking credentials and credit card details.

Web Protection
Web Protection

Detect which websites are safe and can be trusted. Block malware websites and downloads.

Block Phishing Websites
Block Phishing Websites

Block 'spoof' websites designed to steal your personal information, normally after clicking a fake email.

Features

Scheduled Scans
Scheduled Scans

Set your own scheduled for system antivirus scans including what locations to scan.

Password Manager
Password Manager

Easily manage and keep all your passwords secure in one place.

Firewall
Firewall

Remote managment of Windows firewall or built-in advanced firewall tools.

Identity Protection
Identity Protection

Identity protection from Experian intergrated to protect your idenity on and offline.

Browser Manager
Browser Manager

Easily allows users to clear history, cache and tracking cookies from their web browsers.

Support and Customer Service

No live chat is a big negative with Avast!'s support but then again they do offer 24/7 phone support, so that almost makes up for lack of live chat. Their site is absolutely gorgeous and very easy to navigate around. We'd go as far to say that this is the nicest site out of the companies we've reviewed, with Scanguard in a close second. But what does a good site actually do? Trust us, when you're on a website trying to find support for over 10 minutes you'll appreciate a good looking and easy to navigate site. Big thumbs up for Avast here!

Phone Support
Phone Support

24/7 phone support for billing and technical questions.

Live Chat Support
Live Chat Support

Customer service includes live chat for a quick respsonse to any issues.

Customer Reviews For Avast

Steve - 8 months ago

Best thing I did was uninstall this. Too many issues. One day it would update full package which was installed, next day it would say only half of the packaged software was installed and tried to get me to install what I already had. Watch your wallet on this one.

Ellen - 1 year ago

Installed Avast and now have trouble with computer freeze.

Randy Coller - 1 year ago

Avast somehow got loaded on my notebook, I did not load it. Unable to remove it. So I called Avast and they wanted to charge a service fee to remove it. After I demanded to speak with a supervisor and threatened to sue them, they relented and removed it. Shady operation if you ask me.

Dean William Bartlett - 1 year ago

Paid for a two-year license back in September for a PC for around $80. I switched from using a PC to a Mac. Call customer service because the actuation code stop working on the Mac. Was told that I would have to purchase a Mac version. Money for nothing!

Mike1934 - 1 year ago

Have used Avast for years, no problems at all.

David - 1 year ago

I have used this product for several years on multiple computers. Initially they were great, but I have recently had some very bad service experiences when their software failed to launch with UI error. They tried to blame it on my new laptop and charged me to fix the problem. I will not be renewing.

lev - 1 year ago

it just recognized a steam game as a virus... and deleted it how worse can it get?

Michael - 1 year ago

Installed Avast now my computer freezes up crap

Stephen Cooper - 1 year ago

Slows down you computer and network, too many hidden agendas. Not worth the money. Best to stay away fom.

Paladin117 - 1 year ago

I have always found their support to be outstanding and I would rather talk than chat anyway . There are add-ons which I gladly pay for and I like that they send me accurate reminders and DO NOT charge me unless I ask them to. I rate this far higher than Norton, McAfee or if they still exist the dreaded Symantec. The other program I used was AVG - so the rich get richer.

axelXkane - 1 year ago

AVAST Software is the one to install but you have too pay to play and it's not going to put you in the poorhouse , Get it

Rumen Ivanov Tsonchev - 1 year ago

It is´nt free really. It makes the computer slow. Some PC functions are lost. Trash.

Evariste Galois - 1 year ago

***** Long-time customer, big fan, satisfied. One of the things Avast is known for is protecting against the recent in-the-news ransomware Wanna Cry(pto). There's a "ransomware shield" they distributed. I've had no flaws, no lockups. I've been in the tech business for 38 years and am choosy about what I put on my machines. The licenses aren't just single-machine - you can buy multi-seat licenses. Avast doesn't restrict their products to just anti-virus, all bundle together to create a nearly impregnable machine. I don't let my guard down, however, but I do rest easier knowing what I've seen it block (and notifies me).

robert engels - 1 year ago

I had Avast anti-virus installed on my desk top, I had to take my computer to the local Devise store to have 2 viruses removed, do not feel I got a good value with Avast. stop

H.B. - 1 year ago

Terrible customer service. They auto charged my credit card $179 because I purchased it 2 years before and apparently agreed to auto-renewal. My original payment was $79, I did not agree to the extra $100. I called Visa as I thought this was a fraudulent charge, they then charged me $11 of management fees. An absolutely disrespectful interaction with the employee. A free antivirus is just as good as this.

Total AV
Best Free Antivirus 2019

Avast Features

  • Removes Malware
  • Removes Spyware
  • Web Protection
  • Block Phishing Websites
  • Scheduled Scans
  • Password Manager
  • Firewall
  • Identity Protection
  • Browser Manager
  • Phone Support
  • Live Chat Support
  • Windows Compatible
  • Apple Mac Compatible
  • Android Compatible
  • iPad/iPod Compatible

Top 5 Best Antivirus Software

#1
TotalAV
#2
PC Protect
#3
McAfee
#4
Avira
#5
Norton