Avast Review

Avast! is an antivirus software developed by a Czech Security company called Avast Software. The company was founded in 1988 so has been around for almost 2 decades! Within this time the software has had plenty of peaks and troughs like any normal company, but it's coming into it's own now! As of 2016, Avast! had 400 million users and around 40% of the market share (outside of china). With offices in the US, Germany, China, South Korea and Taiwan is a giant. Last month (September 2016), Avast bought AVG for $1.3 billion!

Avast

Compatibility

Windows Compatible

Apple Mac Compatible

Android Compatible

iPad/iPod Compatible

Reliability and Security

Avast! has stacks of awards and certifications under its belt, so surely this must say a lot about the quality of the product? Well yes, in a way. Critic reviews and awards aren't handed out like free cheese at a supermarket, a lot of testing is involved. Awards don't say it all though, software is updated daily so awards can quickly become irrelevant, so we performed our own testing. To be fair, the software is smooth, quick and looks beautiful.

Removes Malware
Removes Malware

Detects and removes malicous software on your computer like viruses, adware or spyware.

Removes Spyware
Removes Spyware

Spyware secretly monitors what you do on your computer. Its aim is usually to capture passwords, banking credentials and credit card details.

Web Protection
Web Protection

Detect which websites are safe and can be trusted. Block malware websites and downloads.

Block Phishing Websites
Block Phishing Websites

Block 'spoof' websites designed to steal your personal information, normally after clicking a fake email.

Real-Time Protection
Real-Time Protection

Real-Time protection runs in the background and monitors your system continuously, blocking malware before it gets on your hard-drive.

Removes Adware
Removes Adware

Adware is malicous software that automatically displays or downloads advertising material such as banners or pop-ups.

Features

VPN Internet Security
VPN Internet Security

Browse anonymously and securly online. Encrypt your connection to the Internet to block hackers from intercepting your data.

Scheduled Scans
Scheduled Scans

Set your own scheduled for system antivirus scans including what locations to scan.

Password Manager
Password Manager

Easily manage and keep all your passwords secure in one place.

Firewall
Firewall

Remote managment of Windows firewall or built-in advanced firewall tools.

Browser Manager
Browser Manager

Easily allows users to clear history, cache and tracking cookies from their web browsers.

Tune-Up
Tune-Up

Includes tools which will help with the speed and optimization of your computer.

Support and Customer Service

No live chat is a big negative with Avast!'s support but then again they do offer 24/7 phone support, so that almost makes up for lack of live chat. Their site is absolutely gorgeous and very easy to navigate around. We'd go as far to say that this is the nicest site out of the companies we've reviewed, with Scanguard in a close second. But what does a good site actually do? Trust us, when you're on a website trying to find support for over 10 minutes you'll appreciate a good looking and easy to navigate site. Big thumbs up for Avast here!

Phone Support
Phone Support

24/7 phone support for billing and technical questions.

Live Chat Support
Live Chat Support

Customer service includes live chat for a quick respsonse to any issues.

Customer Reviews For Avast

Gulp Yeal - 1 week ago

Good

Mr Doo - 1 week ago

i've used it for years.. all the anti viruses want you to go pro etc,, but i update the search engines and it works fine....

Chris Gillespie - 1 week ago

Not much of a tech person but have this Antivirus myself and it has kept my PC's problem free with little interaction from myself for a few years. Ta v much Avast.

DUSTIN GIBSON - 1 month ago

Used Avast for a year and everything it cleaned up came back. Couldn't afford to renew the second year, so tried to go back to FREE antivirus and program disabled my computer.. Got so bad that I considered buying new computer. My computer started working correctly again after I un-installed all AVAST from my computer..

Sally Robertson - 1 month ago

Not one problem has slipped through in the years I have been using it. Good customer service for questions, too.

Carl Gleason - 1 month ago

Been hacked 3 time using Avast Even infecting my Lawyers Documents. Replaced hard drive and can prove it. Costly for a nothing provider that waits to empty your pocket and laugh all the way to the bank I vote -10 Watch your PDF's Nasty , too.Avast does nothing there... Watch Ted 101 youtube, See the truth, on how well your protected. Sad and worthless

Kathy - 2 months ago

I have had Avast for only 4 months. I have had nothing but problems. There is NO phone support, unless you want to pay for it. Since I have had Avast, my computer freezes up, I can no longer use internet banking b/c my nationwide bank does not allow Avast into their site. Make sure YOUR bank accepts Avast. Avast nickel and dimes you to death to get options that other internet security provides in their package. Run, don't walk away from Avast.

Brian - 2 months ago

It is no good. Just wants you to keep buying addons.

Jerry - 2 months ago

Avast Internet Security.. for several years. Did it work? Usually. But I had much more comfort from MalwareBytes Prem doing the real protection. With each Avast renewal, a fiasco. And TORMENTED with popups that even they could not stop. That is, when I finally got a reply from customer service. TERRIBLE support!! (If you want REAL customer service.. get MalwareBytes!). So no.. I can't support Avast any longer. 3 out of 10 stars.

Ian - 2 months ago

Avast finds issues, then the recommended fix is always an upgrade with a monthly fee. Not as good as Norton

Gill - 2 months ago

Avoid at all costs. It ruined my computer, appalling customer services. They take money off you for nothing. i had to threaten legal action to get it removed. Shady company in my opinion.

BOB HILL - 4 months ago

very reliable works good for me

Steve - 1 year ago

Best thing I did was uninstall this. Too many issues. One day it would update full package which was installed, next day it would say only half of the packaged software was installed and tried to get me to install what I already had. Watch your wallet on this one.

Ellen - 1 year ago

Installed Avast and now have trouble with computer freeze.

Randy Coller - 1 year ago

Avast somehow got loaded on my notebook, I did not load it. Unable to remove it. So I called Avast and they wanted to charge a service fee to remove it. After I demanded to speak with a supervisor and threatened to sue them, they relented and removed it. Shady operation if you ask me.

Total AV
Best Free Antivirus 2019

Avast Features

  • Removes Malware
  • Removes Spyware
  • Web Protection
  • Block Phishing Websites
  • Real-Time Protection
  • Removes Adware
  • VPN Internet Security
  • Scheduled Scans
  • Password Manager
  • Firewall
  • Browser Manager
  • Tune-Up
  • Phone Support
  • Live Chat Support
  • Windows Compatible
  • Apple Mac Compatible
  • Android Compatible
  • iPad/iPod Compatible

Top 5 Best Antivirus Software

#1
TotalAV
#2
PC Protect
#3
McAfee
#4
Avira
#5
Norton