AVG Review

With well over 200 million active users, AVG is one of the biggest companies in the antivirus space. Founded in 1991 out of the Czech Republic, AVG is now worth nearly a billion dollars, and for good reason ­ their antivirus solutions are some of the best on the market. AVG have an arsenal of 24 different products, all specialising in a certain type of protection on a certain type of device. As part of the 24 products is HideMyAss! VPN, which ties in with PC protection / online safety very well. With multiple Virus Bulletin 100 Awards every year (a highly commended award in the antivirus world), AVG’s antivirus products are well known to be efficient in removing malware and strong in feature set, but are they the best in today’s market?

AVG

Compatibility

Windows Compatible

Apple Mac Compatible

Android Compatible

iPad/iPod Compatible

Reliability and Security

As AVG are such a well established product, you won’t be surprised to hear that their software is extremely reliable, thorough and easy to use. You can read thousands of testimonials from users online explaining how easy the software is to navigate and manage, simply set up and regular scan then let it run and deal with the results. Utilising the extra features like LinkScanner and Family Safety is easy enough at a very basic level, but if you want to delve into advanced settings you can expect some hard core configuration. Although, the learning curve is wonderfully balanced out by helpful chat support.

Removes Malware
Removes Malware

Detects and removes malicous software on your computer like viruses, adware or spyware.

Removes Spyware
Removes Spyware

Spyware secretly monitors what you do on your computer. Its aim is usually to capture passwords, banking credentials and credit card details.

Web Protection
Web Protection

Detect which websites are safe and can be trusted. Block malware websites and downloads.

Block Phishing Websites
Block Phishing Websites

Block 'spoof' websites designed to steal your personal information, normally after clicking a fake email.

Real-Time Protection
Real-Time Protection

Real-Time protection runs in the background and monitors your system continuously, blocking malware before it gets on your hard-drive.

Removes Adware
Removes Adware

Adware is malicous software that automatically displays or downloads advertising material such as banners or pop-ups.

VB100
VB100

VirusBulletin VB100 Award

AV-Test Top Product
AV-Test Top Product

AV Test Top Product Award

Features

VPN Internet Security
VPN Internet Security

Browse anonymously and securly online. Encrypt your connection to the Internet to block hackers from intercepting your data.

Scheduled Scans
Scheduled Scans

Set your own scheduled for system antivirus scans including what locations to scan.

Firewall
Firewall

Remote managment of Windows firewall or built-in advanced firewall tools.

Browser Manager
Browser Manager

Easily allows users to clear history, cache and tracking cookies from their web browsers.

Tune-Up
Tune-Up

Includes tools which will help with the speed and optimization of your computer.

Support and Customer Service

Support is an area where AVG do not fall behind the competition in any way. As well as having awesome chat and phone support, AVG are keeping up with the times and offer their customers and potential customers support through Facebook and Twitter. To go even further, AVG also have a community of users accessible through their website. You can compose your own question and submit it to the community, or search through previous questions and answers. It really is a complete support system - at no point did we feel like we were being left to our own devices. (If you’ll pardon the pun)

Phone Support
Phone Support

24/7 phone support for billing and technical questions.

Live Chat Support
Live Chat Support

Customer service includes live chat for a quick respsonse to any issues.

Customer Reviews For AVG

Roger Maslon - 3 weeks ago

Stop the farce of stating that this is free.

AVG is the Best - 1 month ago

AVG is really easy to use, I used a few years AVG and i have NO problems just keep it updated

sanele - 2 months ago

think avg will help me with my files against virus

Mr Doo - 2 months ago

Works great... just keep it updated...

MARRIANA - 3 months ago

just installed 1 year subscription for antivirus. after scanning, it then tells me I need to purchase the pc tuneup product to resolve my issued. I subscribed to free trial, scanned again, and it kep bringing me back to repurchase more products. I just requested a refund. Horrible. I need something easy to use.

ERIK KRONBORG LETH - 4 months ago

AVG Tune Up - dont buy it!!! I've had big problems with AVG Tune Up used with Windows 10, the program has ruined a lot and I've paid a huge amount to get the computer organized. AVG recognizes no responsibility! Have only had it installed for a short time and cannot get the amount refunded. I'm done with AVG !!!

G Scott - 4 months ago

I have used AVG for a few years now including their PC Tune-Up and have never had a problem. It was easy to install, plus I set it up on other devices and each year it renews automatically. The internet security is paid for monthly or annually and is very affordable then you can buy add-on's like PC Tune Up etc.

S Wood - 4 months ago

Customer service is terrible. Won't update. Got virus it won't remove. Will never by again. Keep wanting more money!!

Huia - 4 months ago

IT IS NOT FREE. Even when you pay they still want more. UNINSTALLED

Daryl M - 1 year ago

I tried to buy their AVG Security. It didn`t come with a disc. Just a code. Downloaded it but it still would work as a full version kept asking me to buy even though I did buy it. Not trying to be biased or racist but I tried to talk to a couple of their support team but I could not understand what they were trying to say. Problem still not resolved.

lars.nyctelius@gmail.com - 1 year ago

I decided to start to pay for avg a few months ago and t turned in to a nightmare I never seen such a pushy software disabling a go go other programs called put a sleep - avg then pads itself on its shoulder and moves on and leaves a havoc - I'm counting the days to get rid of this shitty program... never again Avast here we go this is just a load of non stop checks claiming to be fantastic instead it is a waste a time eating battery time on your mobile device - 0 in review don't pay for this crap!

Rob Stewart - 1 year ago

After your year is up, they will mess with your computer, keep you from using other programs. They were a night mare when originally setting up and I have had to deal with problems they should have caught.

Preston Atkinson - 1 year ago

I was with AVG for 7 years using them on several computers and I experienced many issues with Desktop and PCs. Had been talked into PC Tune Up by AVG and they tried to sell me Driver updater. When I downloaded Windows 10 there were bugs and then bugs spread to Itunes. After hours with Microsoft and Apple engineers we removed all AVG programs and all issue I had experienced ceased. AVG had offered to fix my issues at $388.00 AUS (no fix no pay). They knew they could fix them, because as we discovered, they were the ones creating bugs in my operating systems and hardware, then they offered to fix the 'third party' issues at a cost. Be extremely careful having any contact with AVG and please consult industry specialists before using any AVG product. If you are using them and have unexplained issues, sorry guys, but it's probably them.

Stephen Cooper - 1 year ago

A good mate who's well into computers and digital raved about how good this software was. Used the business paid version and it was OK but there are better antivirus software out there. The free version, basically stopped working, one module at a time, wouldn't update in the end and even after uninstalling, error reports are still pooping up.

PROF. DAPRICK - 1 year ago

I SEE ALL THESE NEG. COMMENTS & DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THEY ARE HAVING ALL THESE ISSUES. I TEACH VARIOUS TYPES OF COMPUTER CLASSES FROM "REFURBISHING,BUILDING,REPAIR,PROGRAMMING,ETC... & DON'T HAVE ANY OF THE ISSUES THAT THEY ARE REPORTING ON. I'VE BEEN USING 'AVG' FOR ABOUT 7 YRS NOW. ALL I CAN THINK OF WHY THESE FOLKS ARE HAVING THESE ISSUES'S BECAUSE THEY DON'T HAVE 'AVG' SET UP PROPERLY. THE "POPUPS" CAN BE TURNED OF.AS FAR AS "CUSTOMER SERVICE" GO'S ,AS W/ A LOT OF COMPANIES TODAY ARE "OUTSOURCING"THE WORK FORCE OUTSIDE OF THE "US". I'VE COMPLAINED IN THE PAST WHEN I HAD PROBLEMS SPEAKING W/ A PERSON & I ALWAYS HAD THE ISSUE RESOLVED. MY POINT IS THAT 'AVG' IS THE BEST PROTECTION,EASIEST TO USE, &"BLANKETS" MY MACHINES. WE USE IT ON ALL ARE 'BUILDS',REPAIRS, &REFURBISHED COMPUTERS. I LOOKED @ YOUR COMPARISON GRID & SEEN THAT YOU LISTED A LOT OF THINGS THAT "AVG" PROVIDES & SAYING THEY DON'T. I KNOW FOR A FACT THAT THEY DO PROVIDE SUCH THINGS AS 'EMAIL PROTECTION',UN-SAFE WEB SITE PROTECTION, & SO ON. SOME THINGS YOU HAVE TO TURN ON OR TURN OFF IN THE "DASHBOARD".

AVG Features

  • Removes Malware
  • Removes Spyware
  • Web Protection
  • Block Phishing Websites
  • Real-Time Protection
  • Removes Adware
  • VPN Internet Security
  • Scheduled Scans
  • Firewall
  • Browser Manager
  • Tune-Up
  • Phone Support
  • Live Chat Support
  • Windows Compatible
  • Apple Mac Compatible
  • Android Compatible
  • iPad/iPod Compatible
  • VB100
  • AV-Test Top Product

Compare Antivirus Software 2019

TotalAV
PC Protect
McAfee
Avira
Norton