AVG Review

With well over 200 million active users, AVG is one of the biggest companies in the antivirus space. Founded in 1991 out of the Czech Republic, AVG is now worth nearly a billion dollars, and for good reason ­ their antivirus solutions are some of the best on the market. AVG have an arsenal of 24 different products, all specialising in a certain type of protection on a certain type of device. As part of the 24 products is HideMyAss! VPN, which ties in with PC protection / online safety very well. With multiple Virus Bulletin 100 Awards every year (a highly commended award in the antivirus world), AVG’s antivirus products are well known to be efficient in removing malware and strong in feature set, but are they the best in today’s market?

AVG

Compatibility

Windows Compatible

Apple Mac Compatible

Android Compatible

Reliability and Security

As AVG are such a well established product, you won’t be surprised to hear that their software is extremely reliable, thorough and easy to use. You can read thousands of testimonials from users online explaining how easy the software is to navigate and manage, simply set up and regular scan then let it run and deal with the results. Utilising the extra features like LinkScanner and Family Safety is easy enough at a very basic level, but if you want to delve into advanced settings you can expect some hard core configuration. Although, the learning curve is wonderfully balanced out by helpful chat support.

Removes Malware
Removes Malware

Detects and removes malicous software on your computer like viruses, adware or spyware.

Removes Spyware
Removes Spyware

Spyware secretly monitors what you do on your computer. Its aim is usually to capture passwords, banking credentials and credit card details.

Web Protection
Web Protection

Detect which websites are safe and can be trusted. Block malware websites and downloads.

Block Phishing Websites
Block Phishing Websites

Block 'spoof' websites designed to steal your personal information, normally after clicking a fake email.

Real-Time Protection
Real-Time Protection

Real-Time protection runs in the background and monitors your system continuously, blocking malware before it gets on your hard-drive.

Removes Adware
Removes Adware

Adware is malicous software that automatically displays or downloads advertising material such as banners or pop-ups.

Features

VPN Internet Security
VPN Internet Security

Browse anonymously and securly online. Encrypt your connection to the Internet to block hackers from intercepting your data.

Scheduled Scans
Scheduled Scans

Set your own scheduled for system antivirus scans including what locations to scan.

Firewall
Firewall

Remote managment of Windows firewall or built-in advanced firewall tools.

Tune-Up
Tune-Up

Includes tools which will help with the speed and optimization of your computer.

Support and Customer Service

Support is an area where AVG do not fall behind the competition in any way. As well as having awesome chat and phone support, AVG are keeping up with the times and offer their customers and potential customers support through Facebook and Twitter. To go even further, AVG also have a community of users accessible through their website. You can compose your own question and submit it to the community, or search through previous questions and answers. It really is a complete support system - at no point did we feel like we were being left to our own devices. (If you’ll pardon the pun)

Phone Support
Phone Support

24/7 phone support for billing and technical questions.

Customer Reviews For AVG

Daryl M - 8 months ago

I tried to buy their AVG Security. It didn`t come with a disc. Just a code. Downloaded it but it still would work as a full version kept asking me to buy even though I did buy it. Not trying to be biased or racist but I tried to talk to a couple of their support team but I could not understand what they were trying to say. Problem still not resolved.

lars.nyctelius@gmail.com - 1 year ago

I decided to start to pay for avg a few months ago and t turned in to a nightmare I never seen such a pushy software disabling a go go other programs called put a sleep - avg then pads itself on its shoulder and moves on and leaves a havoc - I'm counting the days to get rid of this shitty program... never again Avast here we go this is just a load of non stop checks claiming to be fantastic instead it is a waste a time eating battery time on your mobile device - 0 in review don't pay for this crap!

Rob Stewart - 1 year ago

After your year is up, they will mess with your computer, keep you from using other programs. They were a night mare when originally setting up and I have had to deal with problems they should have caught.

Preston Atkinson - 1 year ago

I was with AVG for 7 years using them on several computers and I experienced many issues with Desktop and PCs. Had been talked into PC Tune Up by AVG and they tried to sell me Driver updater. When I downloaded Windows 10 there were bugs and then bugs spread to Itunes. After hours with Microsoft and Apple engineers we removed all AVG programs and all issue I had experienced ceased. AVG had offered to fix my issues at $388.00 AUS (no fix no pay). They knew they could fix them, because as we discovered, they were the ones creating bugs in my operating systems and hardware, then they offered to fix the 'third party' issues at a cost. Be extremely careful having any contact with AVG and please consult industry specialists before using any AVG product. If you are using them and have unexplained issues, sorry guys, but it's probably them.

Stephen Cooper - 1 year ago

A good mate who's well into computers and digital raved about how good this software was. Used the business paid version and it was OK but there are better antivirus software out there. The free version, basically stopped working, one module at a time, wouldn't update in the end and even after uninstalling, error reports are still pooping up.

PROF. DAPRICK - 1 year ago

I SEE ALL THESE NEG. COMMENTS & DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THEY ARE HAVING ALL THESE ISSUES. I TEACH VARIOUS TYPES OF COMPUTER CLASSES FROM "REFURBISHING,BUILDING,REPAIR,PROGRAMMING,ETC... & DON'T HAVE ANY OF THE ISSUES THAT THEY ARE REPORTING ON. I'VE BEEN USING 'AVG' FOR ABOUT 7 YRS NOW. ALL I CAN THINK OF WHY THESE FOLKS ARE HAVING THESE ISSUES'S BECAUSE THEY DON'T HAVE 'AVG' SET UP PROPERLY. THE "POPUPS" CAN BE TURNED OF.AS FAR AS "CUSTOMER SERVICE" GO'S ,AS W/ A LOT OF COMPANIES TODAY ARE "OUTSOURCING"THE WORK FORCE OUTSIDE OF THE "US". I'VE COMPLAINED IN THE PAST WHEN I HAD PROBLEMS SPEAKING W/ A PERSON & I ALWAYS HAD THE ISSUE RESOLVED. MY POINT IS THAT 'AVG' IS THE BEST PROTECTION,EASIEST TO USE, &"BLANKETS" MY MACHINES. WE USE IT ON ALL ARE 'BUILDS',REPAIRS, &REFURBISHED COMPUTERS. I LOOKED @ YOUR COMPARISON GRID & SEEN THAT YOU LISTED A LOT OF THINGS THAT "AVG" PROVIDES & SAYING THEY DON'T. I KNOW FOR A FACT THAT THEY DO PROVIDE SUCH THINGS AS 'EMAIL PROTECTION',UN-SAFE WEB SITE PROTECTION, & SO ON. SOME THINGS YOU HAVE TO TURN ON OR TURN OFF IN THE "DASHBOARD".

John Ernst - 1 year ago

Subscriptions have doubled and the product is not as good - have been using AVG since it started but not anymore - it has invasive adware for AVG products I don't want and they keep popping up. Even in the program itself it wants vault most threats rather than deal with them. Since it was bought out it seems to have lost a lot of its mojo.

Manfred - 1 year ago

Most annoying Program on my PC. Supposedly free, but keeps nagging for (paid) upgrades every day. Reporting alleged performance issues on my new PC, and suggest to install paid upgrades to resolve. This feels like a SCAM program. Definitely not a recommendation. Uninstalled, time to move on!

jerry - 1 year ago

I bought this pos a year ago, had problems from day one , My computer hasn't operated properly since it was installed. When I tried to get help, all I got was excuses from a person I could barely understand. All they want to do is sell you their premium package. I finally gave up, and am just waiting for my contract to expire. I advise anyone that deals with these people to read every word of their contract , you would be amazed at what you are in for !!

Kris Moosampa - 1 year ago

Yeah, you think it's good but wait till you want to try something else, this program is like the ' Hotel California ' ...... you can check out any time you like but you can never leave, I tried to uninstall but there were remnants all over the place, like slug trails on the patio they kept appearing from nowhere. Don't say you weren't warned .... ' peace ' !!

Prof paul - 1 year ago

Fed up with all the' pop up' messages telling me I had threats, all they are trying to do is force the consumer to purchase extra support. This is nearly as bad as any virus. I am going to uninstall AVG and go with another anti-virus provider. I'm afraid when I hear the name AVG, I say 'barge pole'!

Mike - 1 year ago

Last couple of upgrades have restricted access to many sites and badly affected a number of sites. For example, Twitter no longer shows videos and a number of sites simply refuse to load. Time to remove it and try another.

Sylvain Béchamp - 1 year ago

First I've been using for over 20 years AVG free.Now for the last 1½ year it's been a pain.Why they updated their software into bugoff software. I do not understand that.Everything was pre established my Antivirus would work around the clock.Now everthing is manual and other than internet online protection all other features are a nag and a drag.So this is where I draw the line.Goodby AVG you are more pain than gain.And those super pop-ups are more than annoying. They distract us from our working environment.

Jack Bookout - 1 year ago

BEWARE of trying the 'PC tune-up and Maintenance' free trial from AVG. It worked fine until the trail period was over then I began to get extremely slow boot up times (30 min to 2 hours) and repeated freeze ups with Win 10 error messages of 'memory management' . 'page fault in non-paged location', etc. Since my motherboard, cpu , and memory was over 7 yrs old- I replaced all 3.only to find that the problem was still there. After finally removing the program- my computer works fine.

Mark - 1 year ago

Horrible. The free version was ok and you would expect the paid version to be even better but it was FAR worse. It wouldn't run the scheduled scans. The same scans in the free version took DAYS with the paid version. Tech Support just made excuses stating they had updates and patches so basically, they knew about all these problems. Glad I only paid $30 because it's not worth a plum nickel.

Total AV
Best Free Antivirus 2019

AVG Features

  • Removes Malware
  • Removes Spyware
  • Web Protection
  • Block Phishing Websites
  • Real-Time Protection
  • Removes Adware
  • VPN Internet Security
  • Scheduled Scans
  • Firewall
  • Tune-Up
  • Phone Support
  • Windows Compatible
  • Apple Mac Compatible
  • Android Compatible

Top 5 Best Antivirus Software

#1
TotalAV
#2
PC Protect
#3
McAfee
#4
Avira
#5
Norton